Welcome to Sojourn to the Past

   Click here for more information on Journey Dates and Parent Meetings.

Sign up for our newsletter...

...and we'll keep you posted on new products, events, news, and promotions!

Close this window

National Advisory Committee

Community Support   Donors & Grants   Community Partners   Events
Sojourn to the Past is grateful to the members of its distinguished National Advisory Committee for their support of the program’s mission and goals.
  • Hon. Norman Mineta, Former Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation and Member of Congress
  • US Congresswoman Anna Eshoo (CA)
  • US Congresswoman Jackie Speier (CA)
  • US Congresswoman Karen Bass (CA)
  • US Congressman John Lewis (GA), Author, veteran leader of the Civil Rights Movement
  • US Congressman Jared Polis (CO)
  • Senator Jerry Hill (CA)
  • Senator Mark Leno (CA)
  • Senator Curren D. Price, J.D. (CA)
  • Mayor Kevin Johnson, Sacramento, CA, (NBA All – Star)
  • Hon. Willie L. Brown, Jr., J.D., Former Speaker of the Assembly, CA and Mayor of San Francisco
  • Hon. Julian Bond, Former Chair NAACP, Former Member of Congress
  • Robert M. Franklin, Jr., Ph.D., President Morehouse College
  • Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Ph.D. Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and Director, W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research, Harvard University
  • Richard Cohen, J.D., President & CEO Southern Poverty Law Center
  • Clayborne Carson, Ph.D., Professor of History and Director, Martin Luther King, Jr. Research & Education Institute at Stanford University
  • Douglas Brinkley, Ph.D., Author, Historian, Professor of History, Rice University
  • Rudolph P. Byrd, Ph.D., Professor of American Studies, Graduate Institute of the Liberal Arts, Department of African American Studies, Director of the James Weldon Johnson Institute for Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies, Emory University
  • Regina Stanback Stroud, E.d.D., President, Skyline College
  • Eva Paterson, J.D., President Equal Justice Society
  • Ronnie Lott, Pro Football Hall of Fame
  • Hank Thomas, One of the original Freedom Riders; Entrepreneur
  • Morgan Freeman, Actor, Film Director, Co-founder of Plan!t Now
  • James Conlon, Internationally renowned conductor
  • Lateefah Simon, (Director, California Future Program with the Rosenberg Foundation)
  • Helen Zia, Chinese American author, Journalist, Activist
  • Joan Baez, Folk singer, Songwriter, Activist
  • Dolores Huerta, Co-Founder United Farm Workers of America
  • David Gockley, General Director, San Francisco Opera
This trip helped me realize what we can do as a society and how we, ordinary people, can do extraordinary things
-Lisa, former student

Civil Rights Resource Center