Welcome to Sojourn to the Past

   Click here for more information on Journey Dates and Parent Meetings.

Sign up for our newsletter...

...and we'll keep you posted on new products, events, news, and promotions!

Close this window

Scholar Advisors

Team & Contact   Leadership Team   Board of Directors   Contact Sojourn

Darlene Clark Hine, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of African American Studies, the Board of Trustees Professor of African American Studies and History at Northwestern University.

Clayborne Carson, Ph.D.

Professor of History and The Ronnie Lott Director of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Research & Education Institute at Stanford University, and the Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Professor and Executive Director, Morehouse College Martin Luther King, Jr., Collection in Atlanta, GA.

Charles P. Henry, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor of African American Studies at the University of California, Berkeley; former Fulbright Distinguished Chair; former appointee by President Clinton to a six-year term on the National Council on the Humanities.

Rudolph P. Byrd, Ph.D.

Goodrich G. White Professor of American Studies in the Graduate Institute of the Liberal Arts and the Department of African American Studies and Founding Director of the James Weldon Johnson Institute for Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies at Emory University.

Abby Wolf, Ph.D.

Senior Fellows Officer and Special Projects, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research; Researcher/Writer, Harvard University.

Michael Honey, Ph.D.

Fred T. and Dorothy G. Haley Endowed Professor of the Humanities and Professor, Labor and Ethnic Studies and American History at the University Washington, Tacoma.

Christopher D. O’Sullivan, Ph.D.

Professor of History at the University of San Francisco; Fulbright Visiting Professor; former Fellow at the University of London, London School of Economics, Center for International Studies.

Timothy Tyson, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scholar at the Center for Documentary Studies, Duke University Visiting Professor of American Christianity and Southern Culture, Duke Divinity School; Adjunct Professor of American Studies, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Raymond Arsenault, Ph.D.

John Hope Franklin Professor of Southern History and Co-Director of the Florida Studies Program, University of South Florida St. Petersburg (specialist in political, social, and environmental history of the American South).

Glenn T. Eskew, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of History, Georgia State University.

William R. Ferris, Ph.D.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Senior Associate Director, Center for the Study of the American South; Joel R. Williamson Eminent Professor of History; Adjunct Professor in the Curriculum in Folklore and in American Studies; former Chair, National Endowment for the Humanities

Keith D. Parker, Ph.D.

Professor of Sociology, University of Georgia and Chair of Annual National Civil Rights Conference

This trip changes peoples' lives for the better and makes us realize that we can be the change...we are ordinary people who can do extraordinary things. This trip has made me become a better person. Thank you so much for being part of my change. Everyone should be able to have this experience to change for the better.
-Monica, Student

Civil Rights Resource Center